Colombo, Sri Lanka

Colombo is tropical, located a tad below 7 degrees North. I was impressed with how green it was after spending the preceding five months in Kandahar. The humidity was also impressive.

I spent my time in the city in the old section of the Galle Face Hotel, built in 1864 and normally described as the oldest hotel east of Suez. Anyone of note who has visited Sri Lanka (or Ceylon as it was known before 1972) has stayed there. The hotel’s museum houses Prince Philip’s first car. The view from my window at the hotel was worth the price of admission. The hotel continues to offer excellent service and hospitality. All my Colombo city photos have been taken within walking distance of the Galle Face Hotel.

While Colombo is a big city with an entirely different character than the country’s center, I don’t regret the time I spent there. This city has a lot to offer culturally. My next trip which I hope to be longer will be sure to include some time in Colombo.

Roadside greenery – downtown Colombo.

More green in Colombo. Unhappily the river itself is a bit green.

One of the nicest views from a hotel room window ever encountered.

First floor landing . . . Galle Face Hotel.

Galle Face Hotel viewed from the sea side.

Oceanside – adjacent to the Galle Face Green.

More oceanside shops by the Galle Face Green.

 

About mtimpany

Back in Afghanistan after 36 years.
This entry was posted in Sri Lanka - October 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment